Malawi is currently in the process of working on its TNA. It has prioritised its key sectors, and work is now underway to determine which technologies to prioritize.

Malawi is a landlocked and densely populated country located in southeastern Africa, including the majority of Lake Malawi. The country lies at the southern end of the Great East African Rift Valley system, where it borders Tanzania, Zambia and Mozambique. Currently, the majority of rural communities are experiencing chronic food deficits in many parts of the country on a year-round basis owing to the effects of floods and droughts.

Malawi’s TNA contributes to the following Sustainable Development Goals:

Share this

Key sectors for adaptation

  • Agriculture
  • Water

Key sectors for mitigation

  • Energy
  • Forestry

Get in touch

Christopher Manda

TNA coordinator